Skip to content

addon to the closed topic Bounces and complaints not being registered - workaround

edited March 2013 in Troubleshooting

Ok in the below text that is not what happened to me. And unless I am the only one I believe others may experience the same issue. I followed your steps exactly. They are written very well and are very clear. When I went back to SES there was no topic to select ie bounces or complaints in the drop down that I previously created in SNS. I followed your guide to the T and I did it many multiple times. And I write process docs for a living. I know how to follow instructions, and I spent 3-4 days messing with it.

The only way I got it to work was I had to follow the process as I outlined in the closed post,

The guide currently says(*note I added the a. and b. to help with clarity.): (when you get back to SES from SNS)

a. Select your email address. Then click the tab, Feedback Details at the bottom and then click Edit Configuration. b. Under SNS Configuration, click the Bounces drop down menu and select bounces (which is what you've created previously in your SNS console).

Before i could get that to happen I had to create the topic both in SNS and SES before bounces or complaints would show up in the drop down. so following a. on the edit configure pop up it says "create new topic". Click it then add your topic bounces and save just like you did in SNS. Then it will show up in the drop down as in the picture on the guide and you can proceed. you have to repeat this for complaints create a topic for complaints too. This fixed my issues maybe will fix yours too good luck.

By creating the topic in SES as well then I could see the topic in the drop down to select. If you want to lock the post and dismiss my experience go ahead just trying to help others who are following your instructions and running into road blocks.